855-777-9355 / Contact Us

There are Two Headquarters of the European Union

I know this sounds very strange to Americans, but there are two headquarters, with an unbelievable schedule. The 751 Members of the EU Parliament meet in Brussels, Belgium three weeks of the month for committee meetings. However during the fourth week, for four days each month, the 751 Members of the EU Parliament (along with perhaps a thousand staff) have to go from Brussels, south to Strasbourg (a 5 hour drive by car), to conduct any vote. They cannot take a formal vote in Brussels, Belgium. Only in Strasbourg, France. This is legally required by EU rules.  As you would expect, it is very costly, but that is how EU business is conducted.